Cloth Nappies and Toddlers

I’ve used cloth nappies since my daughter came out of hospital, after all I’d been given my sisters Tot Bots collection, so it was worth a try. I’ve only resorted to disposables when we have gone on holiday or she is looked after by some family members who find disposables easier. Not that cloth nappies are difficult to use, people have been conditioned to using disposables from all of the advertising we receive from the big players.

The best thing is how pretty they look, you can get them in any colour you wish and umpteen patterns. The second best thing is she has had virtually no nappy rash with them. Occasionally she is slightly redder. Put on some Weleda Calendula cream and it goes.

We have had success with our nappies, albeit with having to tweak what we do occasionally.
Most people would probably say night time nappies are a challenge, I’d say a tall toddler is a harder one.

We sussed out night time ages ago. My sisters Tot Bots Originals, which are bamboo with bamboo boosters. After some research and trial and error, Motherease Airflow wraps have be one our night time wrap of choice. Never get a leak with these and my daughter sleeps 11 & 12 hours.

We added to the cloth nappy collection some Tot Bots EasyFits. A one size all in one nappy. Easy for daytime, easy for daddy, and slim. I then picked up a couple of Bambino Mio Solo nappies in Boots and recently in a pre Xmas sale a couple of Close Pop-Ins were added. Working has meant that having a few extra is helpful, especially when some clean ones get left with the child minder over the 4 days she is not there!

Well I have been raving about the EasyFits to people and I still stand by how good they are. The only problem is that my 17 month old daughter who is on 98th percentile for height is getting too tall for them. I have been asking lots of cloth nappy experts for advice.

I have discovered that the Bambino Mio Solo is one of the taller Nappies on the market, so we will keep using these but with boosters too. The Closer Parent Pop Ins seem tall too. I have now added two cheap junior Nappies from Tiny Nippers, as recommended by The Leeds Cloth Nappy Library http://www.leedsclothnappylibrary.com. I am trialling them today. I have ordered some Blueberry Onesize Deluxe Nappies that the Nappy Lady http://www.thenappylady.co.uk recommended. Additionally, I am thinking about adding more Close Parent Pop Ins as they are bamboo, which is great for heavy wetters, which my daughter appears to be. The holy grail for the perfect toddler nappy maybe worked out very shortly.

The major difficulty, is that there are so many different Nappies on the market that deciding which one to buy is difficult. Getting recommendations is very helpful and helps you to work out where to buy from too, as some people never replied to my question – I politely won’t reveal who.
I will post my reviews of my new Nappies in the next few weeks.

PS if you want to try them in expensively, don’t forget to check out what your local council offers. We got some money back. You can also buy preloved Nappies.

Leave a Reply

