Happy New Year – Now Let’s Declutter 

It’s amazing how much stuff we have. Some is just so hidden at the backs of cupboards, that I don’t know that I have actually got them. How much do I really need? How much better will I feel when it has been thrown away, sold, recycled or sent to a charity shop?

I started decluttering earlier this week, by going through my 3 year olds toys and books. Anything that has been unread or not played with recently because she has out grown them, has been sent to a local charity shop.  

 
The pile of toys to sort through. 

Today, whilst checking Facebook out, I came accross this decluttering challenge article in The Daily Telegraph. It takes my decluttering momentum and keeps it going. 

Now I usually don’t buy in to January challenges. Most you can’t keep up with, so start to feel bad very quickly. This has the potential to be completed, but if I only do 7 days of the challenge, then I will still have decluttered 28 things. Now that in itself would be positive. 

The challenge works by decluttering 1 item on day 1, 2 on day 2 etc. By day 31, 496 should have left your home for good and hopefully, gone to someone else’s home, where it will get loved, rather than forgotten about. 

For my day 1 decluttering, I threw away, an almost used bottle of  Shaving Spritz, that has sat in my shower shelf for too long. 

 Only fit for the bin. 

I will be posting on Twitter using the hashtag #30daygetchucked. 

Let’s see if I am up for the challenge, I may rope in hubby towards the end, as I need larger numbers of stuff to remove. 

Who wants to join me in this challenge?

Leave a Reply

